An ode to the pussy willow.

I have been very busy this weekend cutting down an apple tree that has borne wormy apples for it’s entire existence in our yard. We finally gave up trying to keep the worms out.

We also began pruning several peach trees that are overloaded with peaches. When I was finished, I was ready to cut back this plant that Susie put at the corner of our barn abut five years ago.

“Don’t touch that tree.” She said.

“Tree??? I didn’t know it was a tree.”

“Well, it’s sort of a tree. It’s a Pussy Willow.”

“A Pussy Willow???” I said “That’s a pussy Willow??” I was mistakenly under the impression that the Pussy Willow grew along creek banks and I said so. 

“That’s a cattail, dummy.”

“Cattails. Pussy Willows. What’s the difference?”

“A lot. Leave it alone. It provides a lot of shade.”

The way  that she said it provided shade was reminiscent of a poem that Longfellow or Keats or somebody wrote about a shade tree. It was buried deep in the recesses of my mind, possibly placed there by a freshman English Literature class more than fifty years ago. Unfortunately, that’s all that I could retrieve from the aforementioned dark recesses. Longfellow or Keats.

Anyway, the thought struck me that perhaps I should write a poem about this plant and its shade providing characteristics but poetry is not really my long suit.

Anybody have any idea about what might rhyme with pussy willow??

About geetwo

I am a 69 year old (in 2009) retired I.T. consultant. My wife, Susie and I travel in an RV 6 to 8 months a year. I write a humor / travel column for several print publications on a weekly basis.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An ode to the pussy willow.

  1. Julie says:

    I’m with mom on the tree. With gas prices skyrocketing, you gotta save on something. If that tree lowers your cooling bill this summer, that extra .49 might get you a trip to the apple orchard.

  2. Daughter's Friend says:

    Fussy pillow? But the u sound in fussy is a bit off. But you could just go for the sight rhyme and call it good. Cushy pillow? That works even better, except for the sh in there. Ahhh, perhaps it is fortunate that I didn’t major in English Literature with a minor in poetry, huh?

    Tommie

  3. Charlotte says:

    The twisted cattail pussy willow
    Convoluted more than feathers in a pillow
    More restful than a ball of yarn for pet pussy cat
    And what’s wrong with worms?
    If worms will eat it,
    The apple must be good!
    Charlotte Fairchild (c) 2008

Leave a comment