Western train trip 2015 – Seattle City Centre-

Most of you know that the reason for our train trip was to visit Seattle and our Son’s family, including our new granddaughter. Yesterday we went to the Seattle City Centre where there is a new playground and a wonderful fountain where kids of all ages can play. The park is adjacent to the EMP Museum and the Space Needle

You can read more about the museum here :http://www.empmuseum.org/?code=brand_adwords&gclid=CKz-w_-osMYCFYhsfgodeFYA8Q

You can read more about the Space Needle here: http://www.spaceneedle.com/home/

DSC_0040
The Space Needle.

DSC_0031
The purple and aluminum building in the background is the EMP museum. Someone told me once that the shape of the building is supposed to resemble a smashed guitar but I have no idea if that is true or not.

DSC_0035

This climbing structure made me a little jealous as I watched kids climb these ropes. Too bad we didn’t have this in Loogootee, Indiana 70 years ago. I might have turned out to be a mountain climber. I decided it might be best if I did not climb this thing. I didn’t want someone to have to call the fire department.

The following pictures are self-explanatory. This is obviously a very popular attraction. The fountain has what seems to be an endless variety of sprays set to music. I did not participate in this either. I forgot my swim suit.

DSC_0046

DSC_0038

Grandson Will enjoying the water

Grandson Will enjoying the water

About geetwo

I am a 69 year old (in 2009) retired I.T. consultant. My wife, Susie and I travel in an RV 6 to 8 months a year. I write a humor / travel column for several print publications on a weekly basis.
This entry was posted in a letter from home, nostalgia, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

