A day in the life of the big city newspaper.

It has been snowing for the past couple of days and yesterday, I sat down after doing my chores and went throught the entire Saturday Indianapolis Star.   There were so many stories in there that I wanted to talk about with someone but unfortunately I was the only one around. This Post is my only remaining outlet aside from talking to myself; a habit which I’ve picked up somewhere along the way and one that Susie wishes I would abandon. She would also like to see me gid myself of another habit which annoys her greatly; that of shaking my head when I talk. This is something I was not even aware that I did until she brought it up. I don’t even know for sure I ever did do that but now I find myself comsciously trying to hold my head still. I suspect this has caused me to twitch  a bit now and then when the urge to move my head becomes overwhelming.   I have also taken to purposely nodding my head like a Groucho Marx Bobblehead when Susie comes into the room. Much of the time, she will ignore me but occasionally I can get a “Will you please stop that before I put your head in a vise??”

Anyway, back to the newspaper. There is a story about an adoptive mom who allegedly murdered her adopted Korean daughter. Mothers killing children. Not a rare news item these days. The only reason I mention it at all is because the lady was described as a “regular church goer” by a neighbor. I guess most child murderers don’t attend church regularly. 

Another item of interest concerned a start up of a Pet Funeral home franchising operation and I thought all the good money making ideas had already been hatched.  One of the lead stories concerned a settlement between Jack Trudeau and the Hamilton County Prosecutor. Mr Trudeau is a former Colts quarterback and he was arrested for providing alcohol to attendees at his daughter’s high school graduation party. Originally it looked as if he might go to jail over it but he ended up paying a 5000 dollar fine instead. Everybody is happy here. However, the question of teen drinking was not answered nor will it ever be. Each generation has to learn on its own, I suppose. 

The lead story on the the sports page concerned the question of whether Butler University will become the ‘next Gonzaga’ when it comes to their basketball program.  Butler’s team is composed of real student athletes with a 92 percent graduation rate. I gathered that the newspaper was advocating  Butler abandon that stance in order to take their basketball program to the next level. A new stadium and a coach who makes at least 600 thousand dollars were also mentioned.   I wasn’t aware that we were looking for a new Gonzaga and I suspect that many other universities would like to become the ‘next Butler’. The recent trend of having basketball savants on the college floor  for one year before they take off for the NBA may end up restoring college ball to what it should be, a game for real students.   

About geetwo

I am a 69 year old (in 2009) retired I.T. consultant. My wife, Susie and I travel in an RV 6 to 8 months a year. I write a humor / travel column for several print publications on a weekly basis.
This entry was posted in curmudgeon. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A day in the life of the big city newspaper.

  1. Julie says:

    Hmm, you left off clicking your ring finger against your plate during dinner and making that weird noise at random times, both of those annoy mom as well.

Leave a comment